Understanding the school curriculum in South Australia

General education in South Australia

South Australian schools follow the Australian Curriculum from Reception to Year 10. The primary school years include Reception (Foundation) to Year 7, while the secondary years include Years 8 to 12. Some schools offer primary education only (Reception to Year 7), while others offer Years 6 to 12 or Reception to Year 12. 

In Years 11 and 12, students complete the South Australian Certificate of Education (SACE). Vocational studies maybe combined with SACE.

Students in Years 8 to 10 are provided a solid grounding in the general curriculum areas before being given the chance to specialise in senior secondary years. In these years, South Australian schools focus on the eight key learning areas of the Australian Curriculum:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Humanities and Social Sciences
  • The Arts
  • Technologies
  • Health and Physical Education
  • Languages.

An additional subject, Work Studies, is an elective for students in Years 9 and 10, focusing on two interrelated strands: skills for learning and work, and career and life design.

Religious education in South Australia

The National School Chaplaincy Programme is funded by the federal government and provides funds to bring pastoral care workers into schools. It is voluntary for schools to participate in this program.

Schools are able to select a chaplain of any faith and must meet minimum qualification requirements.

Register below:

By submitting this form, I agree to the Terms and Conditions & Privacy Notice. I also agree to receive updates from Good Schools Guide.